Sports » Features

Young riders rule Cheakamus Challenge

Plaxton, Kindree and Federau battle for first



Page 3 of 4

Now that the cross-country season has wrapped up, Allison will focus on the upcoming Joyride Huckfest in Whistler, where he will compete in the Super D and Joyride DH.

Ryan Matts of Pemberton was second to Mike Boehm in the Men’s 30 to 39 category while Trevor Hopkins of Pemberton was sixth in 3:54:05, Russ Wood and Dean Linnell were 12 th and 13 th , and Jason Simpson was 15 th . Whistler’s James Hallisey was 29 th , John Minton 37 th , and Duncan Munro 43 rd . Jason Wint of Pemberton was 56 th .

In the men’s 40 to 49 group David Kvick of North Vancouver won the race and the B.C. Cup Marathon Series with his time of 3:32:14. Other local riders not already mentioned in that age group include Brent Murdoch in 19 th with a time of 4:26:03, Joern Rohde in 38 th in 4:52:09, Martin Stockley in 42 nd , Geoff Weddell in 45 th , Carl Martineau in 49 th , Stu Snowball in 54 th and James Monahan in 77 th .

In the men’s 50 and Over group, Whistler’s John Blok was fourth in 4:22:12.

New this year, the Cheakamus Challenge also featured a 39 km short course that started at the Whistler Bungee bridge in Calcheak, and joined with the regular race course.

Gary Jackson, the technical director for Cycling B.C., won the men’s event in 2:18:46. Whistler’s Benoit Reneault was second in 2:43:08, and David Thornhill third in 2:48:25.

Robin Pickering of North Vancouver was the top female, and was third overall in 2:46:33. Catherine Mulvihill of Pemberton was second in 3:13:13, while Caroline L’Hereux was third in 3:22:54.

Calindy Ramsden of Vancouver was the top junior woman, eighth overall, with a time of 3:11:26. Patrick Frost of Bowen Island was the top junior male in 3:47:21.

Complete results will be available online at .

According to race organizer Grant Lamont, the new course with the added singletrack and the finish at Dusty’s was a success.

"I’ve already got about 160 e-mails from people, all positive, and they really loved the new course," he said.

"I think that’s the template we’re going to stick with for a while – I’ve been fiddling with the race for the last five years, making changes to it, but this is the winning formula."