Sports » Results

WMSC tucks to gold at Panorama provincials

Fleckenstein, crawford and lewellyn top super g



The Whistler Mountain Ski Club performed well at home against other clubs from their zone in the annual Parsons Memorial Super G races two weekends ago, and this past weekend put those speed skills to the test against the best in the province in the Under 16 SG Provincials.

In the opening women's race on Friday, the WMSC's Stefanie Fleckenstein was first overall, followed by teammate Mikayla Martin. Courtney Hoffos of Windermere was third.

Other Whistler skiers in the top 15, out of 63 starters, include Laura Swaffield in fourth, Esme McTavish in seventh, Claire Barager in 12th and Gabrielle Smith in 14th.

In the second Friday race the Whistler skiers were bumped off the podium. Courtney Hoffos was first, followed by Tyra Collombin of Fernie and Cassandra Mah of Grouse. Whistler skiers in the top 15 were Esme McTavish in fifth, Laura Swaffield in sixth, Mikayla Martin in seventh, Cheyenne Ling in 10th, Claire Baragar in 12th, Sabrina Wong in 13th and Anna Yamaoka in 15th.

There was one boy's race on Friday. James Crawford took the win for Whistler, edging out Sam Mulligan of Grouse by just 0.18 seconds. Riley Seger was third, Alex Gershon fourth, Alex Uryga eighth, Jeffrey Cadman 10th, Graham Brown 13th, Max Kirshenblatt 14th and Cooper Yates 15th.

On Saturday, there were two boys races and one race for the girls.

Stefanie Fleckenstein was back on top in the girls' race, winning by 1.09 seconds. Michaela Martin was second for the WMSC, followed by Tyro Collombin.

From Whistler, Esme McTavish was seventh, Laura Swaffield eighth, Gabrielle Smith 12th, Chloe Conacher 13th and Sabrina Wong 15th.

In the first boy's race the win went to the WMSC's Carson Llewellyn, followed by teammate Max Peiffer and Sam Mulligan of Grouse. James Crawford was sixth, Alex Gershon seventh, Cooper Yates ninth, Alex Uryga 10th, Cameron Alexander 12th and Graham Brown 13th.

In the second race the win went to Sam Mulligan, followed by four Whistler skiers: Max Peiffer, Carson Llewellyn, Riley Seger and James Crawford. Also in the top 15 were Alex Gershon in seventh, Cooper Yates in 10th, Jeffrey Cadman in 14th and Cameron Alexander in 15th.

The event was the last on the K2 calendar before westerns, nationals and the international Whistler Cup races.

In the overall standings, Stefanie Fleckenstein led the province with two slalom wins, two super G wins and a silver in giant slalom in seven races. Mikayla Martin was second on the list with two super G silver medals and gold and silver medals in giant slalom. Jack Crawford was second in the men's rankings, followed by teammate Max Peiffer.

"Each day our team brought out a healthy display of confidence and this was backed up with 10 out of 18 medals (in technical and speed provincials)," said head coach Jeff McLennan, "and 22 WMSC K2s making the provincial team to return and compete at Panorama for the Western Can-Am Championships in two weeks."

Add a comment