Sports » Features

Whistler riders named to December World Cup team

Largest contingent yet to represent Canada on circuit



The Canadian Snowboard Federation has invited almost 60 athletes to take part in FIS World Cup events this December in the run-up to the 2006 Olympic Winter Games in Torino.

With the window of opportunity to qualify for the Olympics, fielding a large World Cup team between now and the end of December will increase Canada’s chances of maximizing quota spots while ensuring the top athletes will be named to the national team.

It won’t cost that much, either, since the next two World Cup events are taking place on Canadian soil.

Snowscene, the Whistler World Cup, takes place Dec. 8-11 and includes two halfpipe and two snowboardcross events for both men and women.

The World Cup at Le Relais Quebec takes place Dec. 16-18, and includes a halfpipe and a pair of parallel giant slalom races.

As usual the team includes several athletes that live and ride in Whistler, mainly in the halfpipe discipline. There is also some overlap with several riders competing in more than one event.

World Cup team:

Snowboardcross Women

Maëlle Ricker (Whistler)

Dominique Maltais

Erin Simmons

Candice Drouin

Dominique Vallée

Jessica Kimura

Christelle Doyon

Nicke Rodgers

Cori Olafson (Whistler)

Sarah Hunter

Snowboardcross Men

Jasey-Jay Anderson

François Boivin

Drew Neilson (Whistler)

Tom Velisek

Rob Fagan

Adam Livingstone

Don Schwartz

Carl Cowtan

Matt Horne

Ryan Hickey

Simon Benefant

Mike Robertson

Matthew Tunnicliffe

Alternate 1: Cale Bowden

Alternate 2: Pat Tunnicliffe

Freestyle Women

Mercedes Nicoll (Whistler)

Dominique Vallée (Whistler)

Maëlle Ricker (Whistler)

Anne-Marie Gauthier

Sarah Conrad

Caylynn Irwin

Natalie Gough

Alex Duckworth

Amanda Mourant (Whistler)

Katie Tsuyki

Charmaine Ironside

Catherine Rochette

Alternate 1: Helen Schettini (Whistler)

Alternate 2: Kelsey Borsa

Alternate 3: Koko Wright

Freestyle Men

Justin Lamoureux (Whistler)

Crispin Lipscomb (Whistler)

Brad Martin

Hugo Lemay

Dan Raymond (Whistler)

Mike Michalchuk (Whistler)

Kory Wright

Jeff Batchelor

Guillaume Morisset

Jared Anderson

Daniel Longo

Dustin Craven

Alternate 1: Kael Hill

Alternate 2: Michael Gotuaco

Alpine Women

Alexa Loo

Aimee Newton

Kimiko Zakreski

Christelle Doyon

Ekaterina Zavialova

Caroline Calvé

Constance Boisvert

Marianne Leeson

Alternate 1: Lilliam Halme

Alternate 2: Megan Bishop

Alpine Men

Jasey-Jay Anderson

Philippe Berube

Michael Lambert

Matthew Morisson

Mike Robertson

Charles Boivin

Justin-Claude Dumont

Adam McLeish

Alternate 1: Matt Horne

Alternate 2: Cody-Devin Ratcliffe