Sports » Features

Whistler Freeride Team announces new members


The Whistler Freeride Team – a group of high-performance skiers, boarders and telemarkers that promotes winter sports, Whistler-Blackcomb, and mountain safety – has gotten even larger this season with the addition of several new members:

Aleisha Cline is a three-time X-Games skier cross gold medallist, and a top-ranked big mountain skier. She recently took first place in the Mondial Du Ski in Les Deux Alpes, France, the first international skier cross of the season.

Candice Drouin has been a force on the snow board cross circuit for a long time now, as well as a member of the Canadian team for eight years. She recently started competing in skier cross events as well, and quickly established herself as a contender.

Pierre-Yves Leblance won the Canadian Freeskiing Championships on Blackcomb last year.

Chris Turpin finished second in the World Ski and Snowboard Festival skier big air competition last April, and is one of our top local halfpipe skiers.

Stacy Kohut is a world champion sit-skier and a veteran on the Canadian Disabled Alpine Ski Team.

Jonaven Moore is recognized as one of the most progressive big mountain snowboarders in the world.

Steve Leeder is a world-class telemark freerider who divides his time between big mountain skiing and the terrain park.

Leif Zapf-Gilje finished fourth in the Canadian Freeskiing Championships, and is one of our top local big mountain skiers.

Darren Chalmers is a World Cup snowboarding champion in alpine and snowboard cross disciplines. He was also a member of the 1998 Olympic team.

Robin Courcelles is another strong local big mountain skier.

Moss Patterson is recognized as a pioneer big mountain skiing, combining freestyle and freeride disciplines.

Jon Cartwright is one of Canada’s top big mountain snowboarders, and has appeared in several videos. He also spends a lot of time in the park.

Mike Atkinson is a former member of the Canadian Freestyle Team and is now active in the new school movement.

Dan Treadway is an accomplished big mountain adventure skier, tackling big mountains and making several first descents in some exotic locations.

The new recruits will be joining WFT veterans Rob Boyd, Eric Pehota, John Smart, Brian Savard, Britt Janyk, Lee Ann Patterson, Maëlle Ricker, Jenn Ashton, Sherry Newstead, Hugo Harrison, Ryan Oakden, Roman Torn, Mike Douglas, Shane Szocs, Scott McLorie, Matt Domanski, Shin Campos, Scott Gaffney, Nelsen Jensen, Eric Pehota, Kevin Sansalone, Richie Schley and Smiley Nesbitt.

Aside from competing in events related to their sports, members of the WFT participate in the Schools on Snow talks with the Whsitler-Blackcomb Ski Patrol, teaching students about mountain safety and self-respect.

Other programs include VIP hosting for Whistler-Blackcomb clients that want to ski with legends in the sport, freeride camps, and Freeride Days that are open to the public.

For more information, visit Whistler-Blackcomb at . The WFT will launch its own Web site in December.

Add a comment