A&E » Arts

Three new members join arts council board



The Whistler Community Arts Council continues the move towards being the umbrella group for arts in Whistler with the election of three new members to its board.

Dean Cote, Aileen Durie, and Pat Gemmill are the new board members elected at the Nov. 28 annual general meeting. Returning board members include Alex Kleinman, Bob Kusch, Gavin Livingstone, Dawna Milstein, Kim Muller, Leanna Rathkelly, Joan Richoz, Stephanie Sloan, and Gwen Young. Dixx Milstein is chair of the board, John Hewson vice-chair, and Donna Savage is the current Whistler Community Arts Council co-ordinator.

The mission of the council is to be the umbrella organization for the arts and to enrich the experience of the arts in Whistler.

WCAC, having accepted the role of developing art in the community for both locals and visitors, produces the annual children’s arts festival, the Performance Series of concerts at Maurice Young Millennium Place theatre, the Whistler Arts Experience concept, ARTrageous, and the Bizarre Bazaar.

Grants provided by WCAC have gone to the Moving Chords Show Choir, the Whistler Singers and Whistler Children’s Chorus, the Whistler Players Theatrical Guild, and the Whistler Public Library.

Future challenges for the WCAC include greater staffing assistance through volunteering, funding to support programs and additional staffing in the future, purpose-built facilities for creation, exhibition and performance, and promotion and communication of council activities from members of the community.