Sports » Features

Rose, Lazarski top Ore Crusher



The Squamish Ore Crusher - the first local mountain bike epic and first event in the Hell of a Series mountain bike marathon series - took place with warm weather and dry conditions on Saturday. Over 170 riders turned out for the event, racing up to seven laps of a six-plus kilometre course around Don Ross Secondary and the Cheekeye Fan trails across the road.

In the women's pro elite category, former Whistler resident Megan Rose placed first overall in 2:16:17, averaging a lap every 22 minutes. Ann Yew and Linda Robichaud of Team Whistler were second and third in 2:20:12 and 2:24:41 respectively.

For the pro men, reigning champion Marty Lazarski was once again the rider to beat with seven laps in 2:13:16, averaging a lap every 19 minutes. Kevin Calhoun was second in 2:16:08, followed by Colin Kerr in 2:17:51.

Age group riders did between two and five laps. There was also a six-lap marathon category for riders vying for Hell of a Series points.

In female 16 to 17 Lauren Rosser of Team Squamish was first in 1:16:42, followed by Jocelyn Ramsden of the North Shore.

Quinn Moberg, also of Squamish, won the male 16 to 17 race with three laps in 1:26:15. Jereomy Pelletier of Squamish was second in the category.

Toby Nolan of Team Squamish placed second in the male 18 to 19 category with fourth laps in 2:00:33, two minutes back of first place.

Whistler's Mike Boehm placed first in the male 35 to 39 category with six laps in 2:06:53, over eight minutes faster than the next competitor.

At press time the organizers of the 2010 Ore Crusher were still reconciling a few timing issues with the marathon results, but overall placings were accurate.

Whistler's Cathy Zeglinski raced alone in the 45 to 49 category and posted the fastest time of any female riders to go the full 42 km.

Rob Leigh of Squamish won the 14 to 19 race.

Team Whistler's Tony Routley won the male 50 to 54 marathon, 16 minutes faster than Whistler's Dave Johnston. Routley also had the fifth fastest time overall for male riders.

Dave Thornhill and Mike Hawes of Team Whistler placed first and second in the male 60 to 69 marathon category.

Proceeds from the event go towards the Outdoor Leadership Program at Don Ross Secondary, a semester program offered to students in Grade 10.

For complete results visit For more on Hell of a Series visit