Sports » Features

Red Bull Round Up this weekend

Invite-only mountain bike event for up and coming freeriders



There are worse things than being stuck in Whistler during the Pemberton Festival, especially if you’re an avid mountain biker.

Red Bull is bringing the second day of a two-day mountain bike challenge to Whistler on Sunday, July 27, with a field of 30 pre-selected riders facing off on a variety of stunts.

The first day of the challenge takes place Saturday in Vancouver in Chicago Town, a 1930s-style movie set built in the North Clark Street warehouse district that will feature a mix of street and dirt obstacles.

The Whistler stage is a downhill on the new Double Vision trail in the bike park, followed by a kind of slopestyle in various areas of the park. The public is welcome at both events, with the Vancouver portion running from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. on Saturday, and the Whistler component from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. on Sunday.

At stake is $6,000 in cash and a spot in Darren Berrecloth’s Bear Claw Invitational at Mt. Washington later this summer.

“The planning has come together over the last few months, as well as the design of the course that Darren has been spearheading,” said Sonia Klinger, spokesperson for Red Bull Canada. She added that Red Bull had been looking to host another event in Whistler after hosting the Red Bull Elevation BMX dirt jump event the previous three years over the Canada Day weekend.

“The riders are the best of the best, but there’s another portion to the event and that is the kids that are going to be video-ing the competition, and after the competition they’ll be cutting their footage and posting their videos to People will get to vote on the videos, so there’s a people’s choice portion to it,” said Klinger.

The list of riders includes Casey Groves, who won the Boneyard Air Affair in Whistler earlier this season, as well as Graham Agassiz, Garett Buehler, Alan Hepburn, Dylan Sherrard, Andrew Sherry, Eric Lawrenuk, Dalton Buster, Luke Foulton, Dustin Grenall, Kyle Jameson, Nick Myer, Ryan Myer, Andrew Cho, Logan Peat, Brendan Howey, Mark Matthews, Jarrett Moore, Kyle Norbraten, Scott Alleyn, Mitch Chubey, Curtis Robinson, Ian Nelson, and Ben Glassen.

The judges for the event are Darren Berrecloth, Robbie Bourdon, Tyler Morland and Dave Watson.

Add a comment