News » Whistler

Pemberton selects new council and school trustee

Craddock, Antonelli, Noble, and Zant to sit at council table



Village of Pemberton (VOP) residents have selected one incumbent and three new councillors to lead them for the next four years.

Choosing from a field of five candidates, residents selected Ted Craddock with 418 votes, Amica Antonelli with 388 votes, Leah Noble with 328 votes, and Ryan Zant with 324 votes.

A total of 524 votes were cast in the Oct. 20 vote—about 30 per cent of eligible voters.

Craddock was the only sitting councillor who chose to run this election. He has extensive experience in office, including having spent a total of nine years on VOP council.

This is the first time Antonelli, Noble and Zant have been elected to office.

Antonelli holds a Masters Degree in Environmental Design and currently works as a planner for the Resort Municipality of Whistler, Zant is an aircraft maintenance engineer for Blackcomb Helicopters, and Noble has lived in the Pemberton area for over 35 years and works as a landscaper and small-scale farmer.

Pemberton did not select a mayor in this election, as incumbent VOP Mayor Mike Richman faced no opposition and was acclaimed in the position.

To read about the candidates and their vision for Pemberton go to and pick up the Pique on Thursday.

In addition to electing its councillors, Pemberton also elected Michelle Butler as its new school trustee.

Butler is a mother of two whose children attend Signal Hill Elementary.

She received 349 votes, beating out her sole competitor, Nicole Sugden, who received 112.

For the SLRD, the school trustees acclaimed into office are Rebecca Barley for Area C and Celeste Bickford for Area D.

The SLRD results are expected to be available Oct. 21.


Add a comment