News » Whistler

Pemberton forms airport board

Nine members will guide project



By Cindy Filipenko

The Village of Pemberton has announced the board appointments for the Pemberton Regional Airport Authority (PRAA).

The nine-member board includes representation from Pemberton, Electoral Area C, Mt. Currie and Whistler. The board will be responsible for overseeing the management and development plans for the airport.

Before the establishment of the new governance model last fall, the VOP administrator managed the airport. Lori Pilon, the VOP’s chief administrative officer, is supportive of the change.

“The model is at arm’s length form council or politics. We wanted to get people who had some expertise in that or a related area — to raise it up to a business model and represent the varying interest of community,” said Pilon.

While it may be at “arm’s length”, three of the representatives are tied to the VOP: Mayor Jordan Sturdy and councillors Mark Blundell and David MacKenzie. However, MacKenzie is sitting on the board in his capacity as chair of Tourism Pemberton. Tourism interests are also represented by Tourism Whistler President Barrett Fisher. Joining Fisher in representing Whistler is Diane Mombourquette, General Manager of Finance for the RMOW.

Electoral Area C Director Susie Gimse will represent her area of the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District, while Lil’wat Band Councillor Lucinda Philips and senior administrator Daniel Sailland will bring Mt. Currie’s presence to the table.

The PRAA will hold its inaugural meeting on March 27 in Pemberton.