Sports » Features

New twist for the Month of Pain

Pique Newsmagazine providing trophies, prizes to top male and female



Page 3 of 4

Cheakamus Challenge — Sept. 20

The 24 th annual Cheakamus Challenge Fall Classic is an epic bike ride from the Squamish Airport in Brackendale to Whistler, following backroads through the Cheakamus Canyon and to Whistler following as much singletrack as possible.

The main event is roughly 71 km, although a shorter “Cheakamus Lite” course measuring 40 km is available. Most of the singletrack is in the Whistler area and is included in the Cheakamus Lite race, including Trash, Tunnel Vision and Big Timber. The new section of the Sea to Sky Trail in the Brandywine area may also be added if it’s completed, similar to the section that was added to last year’s Cheakamus Challenge. Registration and more information is online at If you register before September the fee is $70, which includes food and draw prizes. The short course is $50. After Sept. 1 the price goes up another $5, and on race day it’s another $10.

Participants get five points for the short course and eighth for the full distance, with extra points for podiums and placing in the top half of your category.

Whistler Spirit Run — Sept. 27-28

This is a new event being organized by the Callaghan Valley Sport and Cultural Society, a non-profit group that is committed to staging sporting and cultural events at Whistler Olympic Park.

There are two parts of the run, a competitive cross-country running event on Saturday with courses from one to eight kilometres depending on age groups and grades in elementary and high school.

Sunday’s event is a fun 10 km trail run open to everyone that can be run as a relay team of four. Events will be on everything from gravel to bark. For more information, visit

Times from the Saturday run will be counted towards the Month of Pain. Sunday’s run conflicts with the Rubble Creek Classic trail race and the run will only be counted if it gives a King or Queen a majority of events. For example, if only one female competes in all seven events including the 10 km run then they will win the Queen of Pain title; if two females complete seven events but only one raced Rubble Creek then the Rubble Creek Classic racer will win.