News » Whistler

Nearly 700 vote in Whistler advance polls

Last chance to vote Saturday, Oct. 20



While Whistlerites will choose their next council on Oct. 20, hundreds have already had their say in advance polls.

According to the Resort Municipality of Whistler, 319 ballots were cast on Oct. 10 and another 380 on Oct. 13 for a total of 699 advance votes.

Compared to last year's byelection (385 advance votes cast), the 2014 election (379 advance votes) and 2011 (592 advance votes), it could be an encouraging sign for overall voter turnout.

Those who haven't voted yet can do so on Saturday, Oct. 20 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Whistler Conference Centre.

While Jack Crompton has been elected mayor by acclimation, voters still need to choose six people for council from 20 candidates in the running: Steve Andrews, Gord Annand, Lance Bright, David Buzzard, Arthur De Jong, Larry Falcon, Jen Ford, Ralph Forsyth, John Grills, Nathan Hawkins, Duane Jackson, Tova Jamernik, Cathy Jewett, Miroslav Kolvek, Janice Lloyd, Jeff Murl, Ira Pettle, Brian Reid, Melanie Tardif and Dawn Titus.

Find profiles of all the candidates, along with complete election coverage, at Also, check out this week's feature on page 34 to hear from each candidate in their own words.

All Whistler residents can vote if they are 18 years of age or older on Oct. 20, have lived in B.C. for at least six months, have lived in Whistler for at least 30 days, and are not disqualified from voting.

To vote on election day, you'll need two forms of identification (one of which must contain a signature): BC Driver's Licence (if you have a combined BC Driver's Licence and Service Card, it counts as only one piece of ID); BC identification Card; BC Services Card; ICBC Registration; Citizenship Card; Social Insurance Number; tax notice; credit card or debit card; and/or utility bill.

Those who own property in Whistler but live somewhere else in B.C. can also vote, so long as they are Canadian citizens, are 18 years of age or older on general voting day, have lived in B.C. for at least six months, have owned real estate in Whistler registered in their name for at least 30 days, and are not disqualified by law from voting.

Non-resident property electors can only vote once, regardless of the number of properties they own. If there is more than one registered owner of a property, only one of those individuals may, with the written consent of the majority of the other owners, register as a non-resident property elector.

Questions about registering and voting as a "non-resident property elector" can be sent to

Find more info at

Check back with on Saturday evening for complete election results.