Sports » Features

McNeil Family wins the Triple Crown at Telus Winter Classic


The Telus Winter Classic, a fundraiser for the Whistler Blackcomb Foundation, raised more than $140,000 for Sea to Sky charities last weekend through a wine tasting, a gala dinner and auction, and the second annual Triple Crown race.

The Triple Crown pitted teams of four against each other on a giant slalom course, a mogul course and a banked slalom course. The combined time of the team members determined your ranking, and your relative position in the field determined your Flight – the fastest teams landed in Flight A, and the slowest teams in Flight D. The top team in every flight won prizes.

Flight A and first place overall went to the McNeil Family with a total combined time of four minutes, 28.42 seconds. The team was comprised of Andre Zandstra, Molly O’Callaghan, Michael O’Callaghan and Kate Montgomerie.

The Olympic Dreamers, Intrawest’s corporate team, was second overall in 4:44.01, with Kim Dixon, Jane Osler, Stephen Forgacs and Todd Ingledew doing the racing.

Third overall in 2:48.54 went to the Mountain FM team of Mark Torlay, Jonathon Decaigny, Jess Laframboise and Chad Hampton.

Flight B went to the Club Intrawest Clubbers in 5:16.96 – Robert Reyes, Jason Craig, Caine Tsujimura and Andre Cerny.

They were followed by the Wasserman/Whistler team of Alvin Wasserman, Stuart Rempel, Christy Allan and Rebecca Tiller in 5:19.49.

In third with a time of 5:22.81 was the Sun Microsystem #5 Team, which included Ted Allard, Brent Buchan, Chris Eland and Brian Craver.

Flight C went to Sun Microsystems #3 with the team of Shaun Ashton, John Slater, Trevor Murphy and Brett Barlow crossing the line in 5:50.78.

The Speedy Piques and Shelley were close behind in 5:52.18, with Chris Armstrong, Andrew Mitchell, Alison Taylor and Shelley Arnusch.

The TELUS 1 team of Richard Hoy, Keith Stewart, Bruce Gillanders and Steve Johnstone was third in 6:00.95.

Flight D belonged to HIDE, Storage Tek Canada, in 7:30.35. The team was Sergei Kajdam, Anthony Brown, Ron Heron and Morgan Davidson. Quad Shot, Seattle’s Best Coffee was second, with Tonya Scott, Charlie Severn, LeAnne Ryweck and Ann-Marie Copping finishing in 8:05.90.

Sea to Sky Real Estate – Francis Chiasson, Sally Warner, Jill Jacques and Mike Wintemute – was third in 8:09.59.

The overall fastest man in the race was Jeff Laframboise of the third place Mountain FM team. He completed all three sections of the course in 1:00.32, aided by the fastest time in the GS.

Bob Jones was second in 1:00.96 and Mike Varrin third in 1:00.42.

Kim Dixon was the fastest woman in 1:06.75. Christy Allan was second in 1:11.85 and Kate Montgomerie third in 1:15.20.

For more information on the fundraiser, or complete race results, visit

Add a comment