Sports » Results

Local skiers strong at Teck Coast Cup

Sports briefs: Fleckenstein takes Kimberley wins; WBFSC dominates home competition



Nordic skiers from three local clubs performed well at the second and third Teck Coast Cup races at Whistler Olympic Park on Jan. 30 and 31.

Beginning with the Jan. 30 race, in the atom boys division, Luke Mackie placed third while Jesse Thuma was fourth overall but first in his age group. Both represent Whistler Nordics.

As for the atom girls, Sea to Sky's Bianca Ike took the win.

Spud Valley's Marlie Molinaro and Alexa Hunter were third and fourth overall in their age group in the midget girls' division while Sean Benson was third in his age group for the midget boys.

In the peewee boys' race, Sea to Sky's Tysen Ike placed second overall and was trailed by Whistler's Tyler Thuma in third while Whistler's Molly Mackie won the girls' event and Sea to Sky's Arya Schoahs placed second in her age group.

As for the bantam girls, Whistler's Isabelle Chafe placed second overall while Sea to Sky's Marin Lowe was first in her age group and Spud Valley's Ruby Hunter was third in hers.

Michael Murdoch captured the juvenile boys crown while teammate Joe Davies won his age group. On the girls' side, Whistler's Mila Wittenberg took the overall crown, Spud Valley's Alisa Feuz and Fiona Davies were second in their respective age groups.

The junior boys, meanwhile, saw Spud Valley's Jonathan Rabung place second in his age category.

Claude Prica of Whistler Nordics, meanwhile, nabbed second in the masters men race.

Full results are online at

In the Teck Coast Cup #3 event, several team events were on offer.

The Sea to Sky duo of Tysen Ike and Singjo Ng placed second while Sea to Sky's Ryan Sweeny and Whistler's Tyler Thuma paired up to take third. As for the girls, Whistler's Talia Wittenberg and Molly Mackie took first and Sea to Sky's Abigail Larkin and Arya Schoahs were third.

Race host Spud Valley got in the podium action at the bantam level as Lennox Davies and Alex Feuz scored second in the boys' event and Lauren Kish and Sierra Pochay-McBain won the girls', knocking off Sea to Sky teams of Ella MacPhee and Marin Lowe and Josie Clifford and Sofie Hill.

The hosts also impressed in the midget girls' race as Ruby Trand and Naomi Prohaska captured the win and Alexa Hunter and Marlie Molinaro placed third.

In the junior boys' and junior men's competiton, Whistler's Emil Morgenli and Michael Murdoch placed third while in the girls' and women's event, Julia Long and Mila Wittenberg took second.

Finally, in the open category, the women's teams of Spud Valley's Alisa Feuz and Peggy Howard and Sea to Sky's Marie St. Pierre and Cathy Martin were second and third, respectively. As for the men, Spud Valley's Samuel Schranz and Jonathan Rabung were third.

Full results are available at

Fleckenstein takes Kimberley wins

Whistler Mountain Ski Club competitor Katie Fleckenstein captured some FIS race glory to kick off February.

Fleckenstein won the Groundhog Day one-run downhill at Kimberley in a time of one minute, 13.18 seconds (1:13.18) to trounce runner-up Soleil Patterson of Red Mountain by 2.24 seconds. Teammate Gabrielle Smith also hit the top 10 in fifth.

As for the men, Whistler's Kole Harle placed fourth, 0.25 seconds off of Apex's Reece Howden's winning pace. Kyle Alexander and Alexander Valentin placed seventh and ninth, respectively.

On Feb. 1, Fleckenstein also won, though in closer fashion, as her 1:14.64 was 1.31 seconds up on Sunshine's Sydney Benezar. WMSC's Antoinette Tansley also hit the podium in third while Smith was ninth.

Alexander (1:12.75), meanwhile, picked up a podium finish that day, placing exactly a half-second back of Howden. Harle, meanwhile, was fifth.

In Jan. 30 downhill action, Tansley was sixth and Fleckenstein eighth, and Fleckenstein was later 10th in the slalom.

As for the men, Harle placed fifth in the slalom while Asher Jordan was ninth.

Full results are online at

WBFSC members capture 31 medals

The Whistler Blackcomb Freestyle Ski Club made the most of its time at home, scoring 31 medals in Timber Tour action from Jan. 29 to 31.

The club boasted a trio of double gold medallists, as Kai Martin won the U14 boys' slopestyle and big air events while Maia Schwinghammer won the U16 girls' moguls and slopestyle events. In the U14 girls' competition, Skye Clarke won the slopestyle and big air events while taking third in moguls. U14 Kai Smart proved to be the other triple medallist, taking second in both boys' moguls and big air and third in slopestyle.

A pair of other U14 athletes hit the podium twice as Josephine Howell took second in slopestyle and big air while Jessica Linton was third in moguls and big air.

The men also had a duo of double podiums, as U16 athlete Anders Ujejski won big air and was third in slopestyle, while U18's Alex Zastre placed second in slopestyle and third in big air.

The club's final gold went to Kevin Leslie, who captured the U18 men's moguls event.

Several U14 athletes hit the podium once each, as Emma Bosco (second in moguls), Ali Rainnie (third in slopestyle), Cassidy Butterworth (third in big air) represented the women and Phillip Lang (third in moguls) and Ben Lynch (third in big air) did so for the men.

U16's Sam Cordell (second in moguls) and Lucas Pelletier (second in big air) stood out for the men, while Raine Haziza (third in slopestyle) and Michelle Macpherson (second in big air) were strong for the women.

Lastly, U18 men Heejun Kim (second in moguls) and Alex Crickmore-Thompson (third in slopestyle) also captured medals.

As for the Superyouth event, Whistler also had a tight grasp on the podium.

In slopestyle, Landon Owen-Mold, Mikey Delesalle and Floyd Guy swept the U10 men, while Emerson Raffler, Owen Scarth and Caden Ferguson did the same for the U12s. Cohen Rommel captured a silver in the U14 event.

As for the women, Jayden Rainnie, Leda Walker and Lauren Kelley took the U10 podium positions, while Chase Capicik, Lynnette Conn and Emilia Oziewicz repeated the feat for the U12s.

In the moguls, Linda Madi took the U10 women's win, trailed by Walker and Rainnie while Capicik, Clare Bosco and Malica Malherbe hit the U12 podium.

As for the men, Guy, Hugo Mason and Dexter McPherson swept the U10 event, while Ferguson, Oscar van Dongen and Daniel Gannon did the same for the U12s. Rommel captured another silver in the U14 event.

Lastly, in the big air, Delesalle, Guy and McPherson topped the U10 men's event, Ferguson, Raffler and Lochlan Wilson took the U12 medals and Rodrigo Queimano got on the U14 podium in third.

Madi, Walker and Rainnie was the U10 women's podium, and Capicik, Oziewicz and Brooke Armstrong hit the steps for the U12s.