Sports » Features

K1 racers on top at Cypress


Whistler Mountain Ski Club was the largest contingent at the Cypress Teck K1 slalom races at Cypress Mountain this past weekend, with all 44 K1 athletes taking part. Each run was counted separately, and athletes got one run on Friday and two runs on Saturday.
The course was relatively short, with athletes taking as little as 20 seconds from top-to-bottom.
The WMSC skiers won every medal but one in three competitions, or 17 of 18 medals.
In the first race, Kelly Steeves was first in 20.86 seconds, followed by Rachel Vander Veen in 22.16, and Caitlin Millham in 22.32. Rounding out the top-10 were Emma Swaffield in fourth, Elizabeth Kepl in fifth, Stefanie Fleckenstein in sixth and Siobhan Finan in 10th.
For the boys, Dalton Pehota won gold in 20.50, followed by Jeffrey Cadman in 21.14, and Samuel Kirshenblatt in 21.65.
On Saturday, Emma Swaffield was first in the first race in 21.58, followed by Rachel Vander Veen in 21.96 and Stefanie Fleckenstein in 22.21. In the top-10 were Elizabeth Kepl in fourth, Siobhan Finan in seventh, and Caitlin Millham in a tie for ninth.
For the boys, Dalton Pehota was first again in 20.24, followed by teammates Riley Seger in 20.26 and Samuel Kirshenblatt in 20.42.  Rounding out the top-10 were Cooper Yates in sixth and John Hutchinson in seventh.
Kelly Steeves was on top again in the second race in 22.63, followed by Rachel Vander Veen in 23.09 and Emma Swaffield in 23.59. Rounding out the top-10, Caitlin Millham was fourth, Elizabeth Kepl fifth, Mikayla Martin sixth, Caitlin Pitblado seventh, Stefanie Fleckenstein eighth, Siobhan Finan ninth and Sadie Gosney 10th.
For the boys team it was a hattrick for Dalton Pehota in 32.08. followed by Samuel Kirshenblatt. Also in the top-10 were Riley Seger in sixth, Marc Lerous in seventh, Jack Iles in eighth and Cooper Yates in 10th.