Sports » Results

Haywood NorAms draw hundreds to Olympic Park

Whistler Nordics do well in age categories



Whistler Olympic Park has been busy since the 2010 Olympic Games hosting camps and clinics, and lower tier events like B.C. Cup races and qualifiers for cross-country and biathlon.

But since the 2010 Winter Games there haven't been any FIS-sanctioned races at the venue. That changed this past weekend with the Haywood NorAms making a stop at the park, bringing skiers from across North America.

The first event was the Haywood North American Trial Skiathlon event on Friday, where athletes race both classic and skate skis and switch at the halfway point.

The Sea to Sky corridor was represented by the Callaghan Valley Training Centre, with the younger junior-age skiers skiing for the centre, and the senior athletes with the program signing on as the National Athlete Development Centre — Callaghan Valley.

Geoffrey Richards placed fourth in the Junior Men 20km mass start race to lead the CVTC, with Stefan Sander-Green in 12th, Colin Ferrie in 13th, Jeffrey Kerkovius in 14th, Martin Schrama 16th and Jeff Wood 25th out of 50 racers.

The top three were Raphael Couturier of Quebec, Knute Johnsgaard of Whitehorse and Alexis Turgeon of Quebec.

Dahria Beatty and Anne-Marie Comeau of Whitehorse were first and third in Junior Women 10km, with Quebec's Anne-Marie Comeau winning the silver medal.

Raphael Couturier of Quebec was first in the junior men's event, followed by Knute Johnsgaard of Whitehorse and Alexis Turgeon of Quebec.

In the Senior Women 15km race it was Emily Nishikawa of Whitehorse in front, followed by Alysson Marshall of Salmon Arm and Alana Thomas of Ottawa.

In the Senior Men 30km race, Devin Sandau and Brent McMurty of Calgary were first and second, with Graham Nishikawa of Whitehorse and the national team in third. Paralympic champion Brian McKeever was fifth in that race.

The sprint races took place on Saturday. In Junior Women the top three were Janelle Greer of Whitehorse, followed by Emilie Stewart-Jones of Ottawa and Rebecca Reid of Rossland. From the CVTC Adriene Underhill was 21st.

In senior women it was Heidi Widmer of Calgary, followed by Alysson Marshall of Salmon Arm and Marlis Kromm of Calgary.

Geoffery Richards won the Junior Men's sprint, placing first out of 52 racers. Jeff Wood was 14th, Colin Ferrie was 17th, Stefan Sander-Green was 18th, Jeffrey Kerkovious was 23rd and Martin Schrama was 25th.

In senior men it was Philip Widmer of Canmore up front, followed by Graham Nishikawa of Whitehorse and Jesse Cockney of Calgary. Thomsen D'Hont, training in Whistler and competing for the Northwest Territories, was 16th. Colin Abbott of the CVTC was 23rd.

There was a BC Cup race on Saturday for all of the club-level racers.

In Midget Girls, Annika Richardson of Hollyburn was the top racer, followed by Hannah Mehain of Sovereign Lake and Dot Forder of Hollyburn. Kaede Kawano of the Pemberton-based Spud Valley Nordics was 19th, while the Whistler Nordics' Julia Long, Ellie Krasny, Keeley Wentzel and Caitlin MacConnachie were 21st, 22nd, 23rd and 24th respectively.