Sports » Features

Crud to Mud results


After placing third overall last year, Whistler’s Davey Barr took the second annual Crud to Mud on Whistler Mountain on Monday, May 19, with a total time of eight minutes, 6.3 seconds.

Skiers and boarders started the GS course at the top of the Raven Run, and continued down to Olympic Station, where the switched to their bikes for a trip down A-Line. In the team event, one member did the GS portion and another did the biking.

The event attracted 126 athletes this year, 52 of which participated in the Open Team category.

Barr, who is one of Canada’s top skiercross racers, finished almost half a minute ahead of the next male in the Open category. Mike Stewart was second in 8:33.84, and Hugo Harrison, a three time IFSA freeskiing champion, was third in 8:36.48.

Jenn Ashton, a two-time IFSA champion who has won a lot of acclaim in downhill mountain biking, was the top woman, finishing the course in 9:23.21. Julie Montifield was second once again in 9:33.94, and was followed by Kimberley Saprunoff in 9:58.71.

The top junior of the day was James McSkimming, who finished third last year. His combined time of 8:26.53 would have placed him second in the men’s open division.

Duncan Sabiston, last year’s winner, finished second in 9:13.85. Alex Prochazka, one of the youngest juniors, finished third in 9:32.79.

In the Male 40 and Over category, Steve Fleckenstein was the top crudder and mudder with a total time of 8:52.35. Kent Wills will was second in 9:06.73 and Don McQuaid third in 10:00.17.

For the second year in a row, Adam Billinghurst and Alexis Vagelatos won the team category. Their time of 7:25.59 was untouchable, nearly 52 seconds faster than the next pair.

Zeke Helliwell and JP Trotter were second in 8:17.14 and Dominic Balik and Jan Stenc were third in 8:19.94. The top co-ed team, in ninth place, was the brother-sister team of Leslie and Bruce Scarth in 8:46.12, and the top women’s team, tenth overall, was Marilyn Manso and Teryn Ng in 8:51.91.

Add a comment