News » Whistler

Chamber elects new executive and board members

New president, four board members



By Cindy Filipenko

Elections at the Pemberton Chamber of Commerce’s annual general meeting on Jan. 16 have resulted in a substantially changed board.

Members elected Paul Selina as president and Karen Ross as vice-president. Shirley Henry was re-elected to the position of secretary, while former president Mark Blundell was elected treasurer.

Cam McIvor, Nigel Protter, Alan LeBlanc and Brian Young joined returning board members David MacKenzie, Roy MacLean and Sandy Ryan.

“I think this is the first time we’ve actually had to have elections for the executive positions,” said MacKenzie.

MacKenzie, who is also a Village of Pemberton councilor and chair of Tourism Pemberton, was clearly pleased with the increased interest in the chamber. He was particularly impressed by the Mount Currie Band’s interest in participating.

Greg Bikadi, president of Creekside Resources, the corporate arm of the Lil’wat Nation, will be appointed to the board by special resolution at the Feb. 6 chamber meeting.

“I think it’s really exciting that Greg wants to get involved with the chamber,” said MacKenzie.

MacKenzie also confirmed that, John Beck, a representative from Pemberton’s agricultural sector would also be appointed at the organization’s next meeting,

For more information about the chamber and its activities, visit: www,

Add a comment