Sports » Features

Big turnout for snowcross


More than 150 skiers and snowboarders took part in the second snowcross of the Sprite Park Rider Series on Blackcomb last Saturday, Feb. 16, including more young skiers.

Some of the highlights include:

Whistler-Blackcomb ski school instructors Tyler Gigg and Derek Foose brought out their regular skiers last week, almost completely filling the 13 and Under open skiers category.

The Whistler Valley Snowboard Club continued to dominate in snowboard events, winning most of the 14 to 16 open category. Duncan Sabistan beat local Jamie McFarlane in the final heat.

Due to the lack of skiers in the 14 to 16 skier category, Austin Ross competed with the senior women. He started off strong winning the first heat, but was later disqualified.

The men’s 17 and over snowboard event went to local Perry Bizik, a regular competitor in the series. Sean Buck took second place for the second week in a row.

In the men’s 17 and over skier event, the top spots once again went to Daniel Moore and Matt Tweedy.

This week Masaki Hayashi walked away with the Oxygen Snowcross board. Perry Bizik took home the Nintendo Gamecube and Elliott Hashimoto won the GameBoy.

The Sprite Park Rider Series continues this Saturday with yet another Snowcross event, and is open to both skiers and riders. For more information visit the Whistler-Blackcomb Web site at .

You can register prior to race day at Guest Relations or by calling 604-932-3434.


Men 17 and Over Snowboarders

1. Perry Bizik

2. Sean Buck

3. Tom Willmott

4. Andy Clark

Women 17 and Over Snowboarders

1. Cori Olafson

2. Tenaya Nash

3. Charlotte Klein

4. Bodil Drewsen

Men 17 and Over Skiers

1. Daniel Moore

2. Matt Tweedy

3. Luke Dolan

4. Jesse Tynan

Junior 14 to 16 Open Snowboarders

1. Duncan Sabistan

2. Jamie McFarlane

3. Duff Fredricksen

4. Katelyn Scott

Junior 13 and Under Snowboarders

1. Jay Trussler

2. Deiter Prall

3. Robbie Laird

4. Jack Lundy

Junior 13 and Under Skiers

1. Callum Pettit

2. Ian Spence Morisson

3. Sean Pettit

4. Erin Sullivan