News » Whistler

B.C. gets ready to vote

All candidates meeting in Whistler May 3



Page 2 of 3

Where to Vote

Voting in Whistler will take place at the Telus Whistler Conference Centre from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. on May 17. Other locations may be added, and locations for Pemberton and Squamish were still being confirmed at press time.

The Candidates

The incumbent for the West Vancouver-Garibaldi Electoral District, Ted Nebbeling of the B.C. Liberal Party, is stepping down after the election. There are currently three candidates registered for this riding:

Joan McIntyre of West Vancouver is running for the B.C. Liberal Party. She has her own web page at The B.C. Liberal website is at

Lyle Fenton of Squamish is running for the NDP, although his candidacy won’t be official until after the constituency association holds its nomination meeting in Squamish on April 17. The NDP website is at

Dennis Perry is running for the B.C. Green Party. He has his own website at The B.C. Greens website is at

All Candidates Meeting

Whistler residents will get a chance to meet these candidates, and any others that might file, at the Whistler All Candidates Meeting on Tuesday, May 3 at the Telus Whistler Conference Centre. The meeting will get underway at 7:30 p.m. with each candidate presenting their platform before the meeting is opened for questions. Details of the meeting are still being confirmed by the host, the Whistler Chamber of Commerce.

The Referendum on Electoral Reform

Every voter will get two ballots this year – one to choose the Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) for their riding, and one for the Referendum on Electoral Reform.

Last year the Citizens’ Assembly on Electoral Form reviewed various proportional representation systems in use around the world, and voted to promote the Single Transferable Vote System that is currently in use in Ireland, in two Australian States and Territories, and in other regional governments.

If the referendum is passed, the STV system will be used in the next provincial election which is scheduled for May 12, 2009.

In order to pass, 60 per cent of voters in at least 48 of 79 electoral districts must vote "yes" to the referendum question: "Should British Columbia change to the BC-STV electoral system as recommended by the Citizens’ Assembly on Electoral Reform?"